Back to life…back to reality!

I am now 15 weeks post-op and have been back to work for 2 1/2 weeks. I was very nervous going back to work but after my first day I felt back in the swing of things. I still have incisional pain that is worse after being on my feet all day, but I deal with it…I’m told it will probably start improving in another month or so by someone who had the same surgery 6 weeks before me. It is awesome to see everyone at work but also a bit emotional at first. It is wonderful to know so many people care and I truly work with an amazing group of people.

In hindsight, the past 3 months have been a roller coaster…from the shock of learning that I need emergency heart surgery for a life threatening anomaly (anomalous right coronary artery) to the ups and downs associated with recovery. In hindsight, it’s all been worth it, but the first month had many challenges. There was the constant bone pain while the sternum healed, insomnia every night, and emotional ups and downs. I wasn’t able to sleep except for flat on my back for the first month and I had fevers (low grade) every afternoon and evening that would make my skin feel as if it were crawling. That and the fact that I had a sinus infection followed by a cold, and some wound healing problems and the first month was no walk in the park.

Month 2 of recovery brought some ups and downs such as my repeat angio, but also freedom once I was able to drive. I also started pushing myself more in the gym and I think that’s been the key to how I’m doing now. I’m now working out about 45 minutes per day 5 days per week. I’m up at 0500 on work days to get my gym time in and even returned to Fit Camp for the first time since last fall. My original goal was to be ready for Fit Camp in September but I thought I’d give it a try and I’m able to hang in there and complete the workouts! 3 1/2 months ago I could barely get up to a chair and now I’m doing boot camp!

Of course, none of this would have been possible without my friends and family. This includes my VA family because not only did they care for me during all this, but they have been a huge support during my time off as well. My husband and son have been incredible and have made this all possible to get through relatively unscathed!

About scvb13

Mom, wife, ICU nurse, athlete
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

