1 Year Post-Op Anniversary!

Hello All,
Wow, it’s been one year post-op as of Friday, 3/25/11. This year has been one of the most challenging of my life as far as recovering from the surgery, dealing with the “why me?” aspect, and getting back to regular life. I had hoped to bring in a nice cake for our ICU staff and have a potluck on Friday but life thwarted that. Our son was admitted to the pediatric ward early Tuesday morning of last week for a bad case of strep pneumonia. It was scary as his vitals were definitely out of whack when he was first admitted and he spent almost 3 full days in the hospital. He’s better now and at home recovering but this also taught me that it’s FAR harder being on the other side of the bed watching a loved one sick than it is being sick yourself. If I could have traded places with him I would have done so in a heartbeat.
I can honestly say that at one year I feel 100% better and far better than I did before surgery. I haven’t really had any angina episodes for almost 8 weeks now and I’m now working on improving my diet and being more consistent with my exercise (I usually have trouble with this in the winter time).
As far as spreading the word about women and heart disease I’ll be making a poster on that topic for a cardiology conference at work next month and will also be speaking at that conference and sharing my experiences as a patient. I hope I’ve been able to help some of our patients who are going through the same recovery and show them that there is life after heart surgery and it can be damn good if you make it that way!

About scvb13

Mom, wife, ICU nurse, athlete
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 1 Year Post-Op Anniversary!

  1. Mindy says:

    Congrats lurker! I’m so glad to hear you are feeling top notch and sure hope that feeling continues. Hope little buddy is back on the comeback trail soon too.

Leave a Reply

